Jan 3rd – Your mother told you there will be days like this…

So if you thought I had fallen off the bandwagon, you are wrong – I haven’t. I just had a particularly draining day yesterday. Anyway who is a parent of a young kid will know what I am talking about – the kind of the day when the kid is emotionally charged up and your mere existence can be a cause for distress. I was emotionally and physically exhausted!

In a way, I am glad a tough day came early in the year while I am still motivated. It told me that “there will be days like this” and I need to find the will power to power through and follow through on the small changes I want to adopt.It also give me an insight into how unpredictable days might be however well I plan and maybe I need to plan and get through some resolutions earlier in the day. And I cant get hassled by my schedule going awry (never been my issue) but I need to still figure how to get things done (always my issue)

I had a resolution planned for yesterday  which involved drinking more water, however with the kind of day I had I found myself not able to complete it. So I had to change my resolution for Jan 3rd.

So the small change i adapted yesterday was making my bed the minute I wake up. I come from a family where the minute people are up, the first thing they make is the bed. I married into a similar family.I love the feeling of a made bed, the room looks 10,000 times more tidy. And the feeling of getting into a bed, where the bed cover has protected the sheets and the sheets are all stretched out and cozy.

But for some reason, neither my husband or I make our beds the minute we wake up. There are times, that if my househelp doesn’t come, the bed isn’t made the whole day – we are that horrible. The husband is least affected by this, it doesn’t seem to matter to him. For me on the other hand, it weighs on my conscience, not enough to make me move my lazy butt though.

So anyway, I have decided to act on my conscience and make my bed, the minute the occupants of the bed have slithered out.

Update for Jan 3rd on  2017 resolutions

Weight : Lose 10 Kilos by Mar 31st – No loss yet

Book – Read 25 Books by 2017 – Reading a book I need to teach from – really not sure I will finish it though. I am not a non fiction reader

Resolution Jan 1st: Veg juice for breakfast – Done – Streak – 3 days

Resolution 2 Jan 2nd : Spend 15 mins a day (on weekdays) cleaning up – Done – Streak 2 days though I have to admit this was quite a fraudulent job done

Resolution 3 Jan 3rd : Make my bed – Done – Streak 1 day.

I will be back later at night or tomorrow morning with my update for Jan 4th. Until then adios my friends.

2 thoughts on “Jan 3rd – Your mother told you there will be days like this…

Leave a Reply

