W is for Wisdom

Many many centuries ago i wrote a blog on the wisdom I had acquired in my twenties. Going through the list I realised now almost in my mid- thirties I didn’t have much to add. Pretty sad huh?

The only wisdom I have acquired is a few motherhood truths that i have learnt. Don’t yawn! Read – I am the bodh gaya (tree of enlightenment) type of wise ! 

  • There are no right or wrong answers. Do what is best for you and your family and only you and your spouse can decide that. So stay at home, work, daycare, no nanny, Co-sleep, blah blah blah as it works for you. Don’t ever try and convince another mom that your way is the best way.
  • It’s ok to prioritise yourself.You are still a person – not just a mother. Go for that night out, the girls trip or the spa. Don’t feel guilty.
  • Motherhood will give you million opportunities to feel guilty and can be overwhelming. Your kid will exhaust you mentally and physically. You will do things you are not proud of you – you will cry, scream, yell or sulk. And that’s ok. Don’t beat yourself up. Once you will feel better, resolve to do better the next day/next hour
  • Your spouse is a parent too. Let him do it his way. Let him change he diaper, or feed the kid the “wrong way”. The baby and he will survive to tell the tale. I promise. 
  • Your child is a person too – respect their need for space, their need to bend the rules, their need to throw a tantrum. Don’t we all do so once in a while.
  • As much as possible, don’t lie to them. Give them logic and hear their view point out.  In a popular Facebook forum – a mother was bemoaning that her 4 year old drank frooti everyday. The universal suggestion was to make frooti and put it into a used carton. My suggestion to make the kid understand junk food was blown away as he is too small. My only point being how long and for how many things will you lie and make up stories. Anyway, living up to the non judgemental part of parenting – I shall move on.
  • And lastly but most importantly spread the word that being a parent is awesome. Don’t tell them about the lack of sleep, the exhaustion, the questions you are asked , the questions in your head, the utter terror your child can be when they make up in the morning.

Coz that way you won’t be the only one being driven crazy imps.

<insert cruel laugh>

This is part of the April Atozchallenge and this is my entry for W. 

8 thoughts on “W is for Wisdom

  1. The Girl in Blue Jeans

    Nuttie! You have to see this! From my drafts πŸ˜€ High five girl!

    “W is for Wisdom

    While it might not really come across as the wisdom imparting kind, my 33 years of existence on this planet has ensured that I have learnt atleast something, more because time sort of does that you than because I wanted to, but still. So, I have decided to handover that enlightenment to you.

    Beware of nostalgia. I mean, I am not saying you should stop being nostalgic altogether, of course we all love looking back at the good old days, and sighing about how awesome they were. What we have to be careful about is that we don’t under-appreciate the present, just because the past was awesome. Because most of the times, the past comes along with this pretty rosy film, that makes it look all good and no bad, while the fact might be that we just choose to the see awesome and forget the awful, once it’s in the past. “

    Reply
  2. The Other Side of Life

    Hahaha! That last line killed it! πŸ˜€
    But, lovely post. Most people are always cribbing about the exhaustion and how life changes. People never talk about these good things! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. My Era

    I think that is a very sensible list and I can imagine how sane you’ve become in the days gone by. I agree with you on all especially letting the children see the reality at some point. Because making up stories about everything under the sun is too exhausting and something I can NEVER do.
    I think the world has kept your last point in mind because I have seen people do that all the time πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

