V is for Visitors

It had been a long day. Her feet hurt and she felt physically ill. I bet I had more footfalls in the house than the neighbourhood cafe

It had started off with their overnight visitors leaving to catch their morning flight. Post that there was a deluge of visitors – Chopra Aunty with her home made laddoos, the bank RM who wanted signatures, nikita’s little friends followed by their mothers, the Aquaguard repair guy, the raddiwala and she had finally ended the day with her husband bringing home an old friend from school who he had bumped into at office.

Why do I never bump into old friends – she wondered as she lay down in bed. Maybe I didn’t make enough friends so the probability of finding one randomly was low. Ritwik was already snoring. As her eyes began to shut, she heard the doorbell ring.

Shit! Not again. As she walked to the door she glanced at the clock -2:30 in the morning. Really? Who can it be at this hour. She peeped through the peephole – Manas at this hour? 

My god! Manas why are you here? What happened? Are you ok?

Manas grinned in his lopsided manner

Slow down with the questions, I just came to say Thank you for being my friend. I am leaving and wanted to say goodbye!

Leaving? For where? Manas what is wrong with you? 

The landline rang and her eyes opened. Ha! It was a dream! 

Can’t believe I am even dreaming about visitors.

She glanced at the clock as she picked up the phone. It was 2:30. The person spoke – her hands went cold, she felt a chill down her spine.

There they were 12 years ago -on a beach in Goa. Manas recklessly going deeper and deeper and she shouting at him to come back. He ignoring her voice irritating her more. When he finally came back she icily told him

If you want to die – at least let me know. So that I stop calling out to you and wasting my breath. 

He grinned in the same lopsided manner

Done! In fact when I die – I will come to you with a whole speech saying thank you for being my friend and then probably saying goodbye.

He had remembered and kept his word after all those years.

7 thoughts on “V is for Visitors

  1. The Other Side of Life

    Nicely done! Loved it. Reminded me of that 90s private song, Gori Teri Aankhen Kahen! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

