R is for (Wait for it, like really wait for it) Rain

Call up any Bangalorean (or are we Bengalurean’s?) – anyway so call up any Bangalorean you know.

And if they don’t whine about the temperature, they are lying to you – they don’t reside in Bangalore. It has been hot hot hot here. And no not the pampered weathered Bangalore hot of 32 degrees – it has been close to 40 degrees here.

In a land where a lot of people don’t have AC’s –who needs AC’s for 2 months of heat machaa. This is a big deal. You sleep and wake up with sweat around the neck. The husband is kicking around acting like someone is attacking him at night, the kid still insists on getting his stuffed toys to bed, in this weather, the toys are even more annoying than usual.

The air is still, warm and the sun is blazing.

As I wonder what to write about with the alphabet R – i start some half hearted attempt at R for Romeo and Juliet and know its going nowhere – and then just like that God sends me a sign

Thunder!

I think this is how people marooned in deserts feel when they see an oasis. I get all excited and inform my Bangalore Whatsapp group and the husband that it is going to rain. I ponder updating a Facebook status. But that’s not cool anymore!

If you think i am over-reacting to the prospect of rain, you must know I am a great lover of the rain, especially the first rain – I have blogged about it here and here. Rains make me very excited – It is probably a left over thing from living in Port Blair. Where every evening, the minute we got out of the school bus, it would pour drenching you irrespective of any attempts of having an umbrella or a raincoat. I realize all my love for the rain has already been pored into the blog posts linked so I will shut up about it.

Maybe the rain is just an excuse at a valid excuse of eating chai and samosa.

Anyway getting back – I hear the thunder and immediately I thought of R for Rain. And then of as a harbinger to the rain, my curtains start moving in the breeze. The same curtains which have been brought to a standstill by this very still weather are actually moving. I get a little more excited and believe I can smell rain.

The people I have messaged tell me I am imagining it,The skies have no black clouds, and even as I right this blog, the breeze has stopped. In fact it’s still again. Dammit even the sun is shining again.

But i believe the rain and I have a connection and it wont fail me – I tell them with all the authority and confidence I don’t actually possess that it will rain and to have faith.

So Rain help me save face and rain!

Rain on this poor drenched Bangalore.

Spare us from buying AC’s and contributing to global warming.

Dont let us become puddles.

And more importantly (for me) make this idiot (me) continue to believe that we have a connection.

Phew and one more blog done – 8 more alphabets and 5 more days. I am not sure if i am more keen for it to rain or for this blogathon to be done with.

update: I am Nostradamus – it just started raining

This is part of the ATOZ Challenge and this is my entry for R. 

 

 

8 thoughts on “R is for (Wait for it, like really wait for it) Rain

  1. Truly Happy

    When I was in Bengaluru last month it was already so hot (quite unlike the usual pleasant Bangalore ). I can only imagine how hot it must be now. I hope it rains Nuttie.

    Reply
  2. The Other Side of Life

    It rained it rained it rained it rained!!

    For the last 15 days, we were looking for a cooler everywhere and it was out of stock. We bought it yesterday finally. And it rained today. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

