M is for Mamma Mia

It’s almost blasphemous for me to choose anything else for M. M is for my mommy and I am totally going to cheat on this blog! I wrote this many many moons ago about my mommy and is still as relevant today as it was then. My thoughts or feelings haven’t changed.

https://dropzofjupiter.wordpress.com/2010/05/10/the-lioness-and-her-cub/

Did I still say that this holds true. Yup believe it while it was written 6 years ago, I am still 28.

The only thing that has changed since is that I have someone who now calls me mamma. Sometimes more often that I would like πŸ˜‰

Having a baby has proved to me once again why I need my mommy around – the way my mom looked after me when my kid was born was well… What only a mother can do.

My only advice to all going to be moms is – however awesome your mil is, go to your mommy when you have a baby.

The one person in the world who was as bothered about me as she was about the baby.

The person who walked with my kid for 2-3 hours as he screamed during his colicky stage.

The person who stayed up with him the night he was born as I slept almost comatose after a long long 17 hour labour.

The person who took over from “‘munde tai” his personal masseuse when he was born and gave him extra special baths and massages – he still gets them when she is here.

The only one who told a starving nursing mother to let the baby cry and finish my food.

The person who gives me confidence that I am raising my kid ok.

And most importantly the person who told me not to feel guilt and to prioritise me too.

The best compliment I get is when she thinks I am a good mom. Because while other kids my age are now looking after their parents – I am still being looked after.

And knowing her (and knowing me) that’s not going to change when I am 60 either

8 thoughts on “M is for Mamma Mia

  1. Truly Happy

    Aww… What a lovely post ( the lioness and her cub). You are so blessed, you have such a wonderful relationship with your Mum. I hope the bond grows stronger and stronger and stronger forever.

    I am sure you are a great Mum. Just wait…one day Elf will write (or say) similar or even better things about you.

    Lovely lovely post. I am missing my Mamma Mia now.

    Reply
  2. Truly Happy

    And your mum’s note to you..that is lovely too. That should give you strength anytime you begin to doubt your abilities to raise your kid or do anything else in life. Wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

