F is for funnybones – I mean Mrs funnybones

Let me start off by saying that I love her – like I want her to be my friend – I want her man of the house to hang out with my man of the house. I want her children to call me Maasi, I want her mom to call me beta — you get my drift right?

And mainly coz I love her humour – sarcastic, wry wit. I love her tweets and love her columns. And so when a friend tweeted that she loved her book I bought it.

2 hours into our 3 hour aeroplane ride and I was done with the book.

It did keep my interest, and I wanted to read more of the book – though I am not sure if it is because the I still had another hour on the flight or because I honestly wanted to read more.

The chapters (for lack of a better word) are funny no doubt – some of them laugh out aloud funny but I felt let down. Maybe it’s because she is a celebrity and a super stars wife so I wanted to know more about her life you know the starry one. Except that what she has narrated is very unstarlike. It could almost be our story except way funnier.

But What disappointed me was that most chapters had no insights you know the ones that make you think – they were just narrations and I did feel like I have read some of them before.

When she writes about her family you can feel her soul through her wit. Chapters like the one about her son’s potential girl friend, karwachauth and rakhi( the festival not the one who wants to ban ceiling fans) leave you with a lingering feel good feeling . The rest I already don’t recall what they were about. Maybe in the attempt to make the chapters alphabetical, a few chapters were forced.

But she does write well and she is funny funny funny ! And i still want to be her friend.

So Mrs funnybones if you do read this – while I can’t give you the raving reviews the others have – do remember it’s because only your closest friends are the most truthful with you.

And even if you don’t want to be friends – please don’t send the man of your house to beat me up. It won’t be a fair fight.

This is part of the AtoZchallenge- unofficially of course

6 thoughts on “F is for funnybones – I mean Mrs funnybones

Leave a Reply

