B is for Book Clubs

Soon after I started my sabbatical ( yes yes that again), I very enthusiastically joined “meetup” and signed up for multiple clubs for people with similar interests. Right from entrepreneurial groups (yes yes one of my many plans which i am to work on) to trekking clubs to spiritual clubs. Most of them my enthusiasm for joining has gone and now i spend a lot of my time wondering what was i thinking when i joined them and wondering how to stop them from clogging my inbox.

In the midst of all that signing up, i apparently signed up for a couple of book clubs and as luck would have it, one of them was happening very soon – a ladies book club. Very tentatively, i went to meet these women. Not knowing, what kind of women I would be meeting – would they be far too intellectual for my tastes, what books would they read.

It was the first meeting of that book club –  4 of us who met then – Wow, i was like a founding member and all. Today we are a group of 13 woman – we feel its a great size. I have read books that I would never picked up on my own and enjoyed them, also read books and hated them, recommended and discussed my favorites. It has exposed me to so many authors I hadn’t heard of . The books are great, the discussions are lively,fun and intelligent.

You know as a stay at home person, I have met a lot of amazing women beating the stereo type of stay at home women that you usually hear about. But eventually we all have one thing in common – we are all mothers and our worlds are kind of similar.

So for me meeting these women from my book club was amazing – coz we are all so different from a young girl just out of her MBA institute to a yoga guru with elderly daughters, from single women to married women – from analyists to people studying for a PHD in english literature.

Its fascinating to see how books resonate differently with different people basis where they are in their lives. It’s interesting to talk about various aspects of our lives and I have loved to get to know them. The length of our discussions have gone up from an hour to 2 hours.

And As we come close to completing a year of being a “book club” , I want to thank these lovely ladies for that one awesome Sunday afternoon every month.

While I have always loved to read, I truly understand now how the love for books can bond you with complete strangers

They don’t know about this blog but maybe someday they will.

This is a part of the April #AtoZchallenge

8 thoughts on “B is for Book Clubs

Leave a Reply

