A is for April and A brand new start

 

Phew back after so many months and i have to thank the AtoZchallenge for bringing me back here.

I am pretty sure you are all fed up of hearing that I am on a sabbatical, the point is the sabbatical happened, its been a year and I haven’t really  hit upon a great next step. Most of my ideas are still just ideas. But I do know that the thought of going back just doesn’t excite me. But i WAS scared – scared to move out of my comfort zone, scared that i would amount to nothing and do nothing productive with my life.

And I say Was because this is what happened…

Like in all good stories, when they are retold, the epiphany about what I needed to do next had a rather poetic setting – Goa! We were in Goa to celebrate my 30 something birthday and i got a tarot card reading done. I have to admit, i went rather skeptically to her. She didn’t ask me anything about myself but looking at my cards she said – that things were moving fast around me and I had  done something that had brought up a huge change in my life. She said that i COULD be on the path to something great but i am resisting it for comfort and that it was weighing me down. And fortunately/unfortunately it was my choice to whether i would chose to walk down the amazing path ahead you which would bring me a lot of personal peace.

As a step towards that, I put in my papers a couple of days at the organisation I worked for. I have resisted offers of part and flexitime working. This April, it would have been 10 years of working in the same organisation

10 years has seen me grow up from a young kid fumbling around to someone who was confident about my work coincidentally starting and ending my career with the same boss and the same team (with many changes in between), 10 years wherein a young girl wanting to the conquer the world has become a mother with dreams pretty different from the ones i started off with. I have a lot to thank the organisation for  – but it is time for me to move on – Move on and see what lies ahead. Scary unknown and exciting.

For a conformist – like me this is a big deal!

Like they say the beginning of the amazing race (another A) – the world is waiting for me.

 

 

9 thoughts on “A is for April and A brand new start

  1. shirleyjdietz

    Congratulations on the big step. Hard to take, yes, but exciting for sure and you can make it pay off. You’ll never have to wonder what would have happened “if I had only…”. Hope you find exactly what you’re looking for. @DietzShirley from I Just Have to Say

    Reply
  2. My Era

    So glad to have you back to blogging {Hugs}
    Now that you’ve started and also the tarot card reader has hinted, you should stay put at writing, who knows this might be the way to the gold-mine she hinted you’ll reach 😉
    Ten years in an organization is a long time And having had the same boss all along would have been quite an experience.
    So are you planning to get back to the workforce?
    Best wishes for whatever you plan to do 🙂

    Reply
  3. The Other Side of Life

    Hey!! Welcome back to the blog world! How’s Bangalore treating you? All the best with your new phase! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

