Letting go…

My baby started school today. As an excited elf wears his uniform, my heart feels heavy. I have been feeling this way for a couple of days I wonder why because he has been in daycare since he was less than a year old.

He is very excited, excited about the swings and the slides he has seen, excited about the uniform he gets to wear.

We enter school and I sense his mood change. He keeps telling me to come in with him. We enter his classroom and hang around for a while. It’s time for me to go, I kiss him goodbye. In the commotion, I don’t think he registers what I am saying. We look back and he is crying either joining in the general tears or he actually wants to cry.

I worry – I know he will stop crying once something interests him. But I worry, if his heart is heavy, if he is scared or if he is worried I won’t pick him up. Who is going to reassure him.

We peak in from a window and the tall one sees him trying to open his bottle, the teacher helps him. The bottle is new – what if he has forgotten how to use it. I should have practised with him more.

I worry about school just being too grown up for him. In a daycare he was looked after. Didn’t we look after ourselves in school?

Who is going to blow his nose or help him in the loo. Make him eat?

I know he is not the friendliest kid in town – will he make friends or would he be sidelined. I know he doesn’t know to hit back – will he get bullied?

Is this the right school? Will the school interfere in the unique way in which he thinks?

The logical part of me knows he will figure it out – learn to stand up for himself, eventually make friends – but the mama in me wants to protect him.

I walk out of the school with tears in my eyes. The realisation dawns that everyday I need to let go of my baby a little more. Everyday is a step away from babyhood to becoming a real person

God bless little one! Spread your wings and fly. Don’t mind your silly mama crying at every milestone. Fly my baby – soar!

9 thoughts on “Letting go…

  1. Scribby

    a feeling that every mother goes through, even when her child grows up to be a real person ! Hugs fellow momma, I know what you are feeling… been there done that, still doing…

    Reply
  2. Scribby

    and for my dear Elf, I wish him a new world to explore and things to learn, to embrace new life and be the one he wants to šŸ™‚ much love !!!

    Reply
  3. Bikramjit

    He will be just fine. . Stop momming šŸ™‚ he he he he..

    No seriously he will be fine ..I can still remember the day I went to hostel in 4th class ..yes there is excitement and yes heavy heart. . He will cry for sure but then he will also learn so much and meet so many new friends ..

    God bless the little one. . Congratulations nuttie. . The kiddy is growing uppppppp…

    Reply
  4. The Girl in Blue Jeans

    The only time I cried was when Zo was performing on stage with her class for her Annual function last year. I am a bad momma no?
    She loves school and learning and ‘activities’ and talks dime a dozen about stuff you wouldn’t imagine they teach. It’s awesome, you will have fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

