Letters to my future baby

Dear Future baby,

They say that parenting is all about tough decisions!

Should i be a strict or a lenient parent? Leave the kid free to be free as a bird or groom them into becoming the next Andre Agassi. Overly protect them from the world or let them face the big bad world? Most of the time it’s about walking a fine line between the various options that are thrown at you

When i look back, i wonder what your Ammamma-to-be’s style of parenting was. One of her closest friends thinks she was too strict when i was a child. As i grew up, while some parents would not let kids go off for out-of-town college festivals, she let me go. Strangely i never slotted her – i never thought of her as too strict or too much of a nag or too interfering or too lenient.

For me my mother meant means security.

Your ammamma-to-be always told me that “remember no matter what you do, i will be there.I may not approve but whenever you fall, i will be there to pull you out of the ditch”. And that for me is what my mother stands for – reassurance and my strength.

I have carried those words with me always. I may not share everything with her – but i know that when push comes to shove ‘mommy will make it ok’. I am approaching 30 and your ammamma-to-be was here for a couple of weeks, i felt like i had a wonderful warm cozy blanket thrown over my life!

And that is what i want to pass onto you – Remember that no matter what your Dad and i will be there. Whenever you need us!

So baby-to-be, My only hope is that we can one day make you feel as secure about yourself, your decisions and your life as my mother made me feel!

Lots of love
The nut!

Disclaimer – I don’t guarantee we will make all the right decisions – but maybe by the time you come around, they will introduce a responsibility giving, parenting skill giving, wise making pill which we can pop

On an aside note
When i hear about kids committing suicide, i wonder if they didn’t know that their parents were the people who they could fall back on.

35 thoughts on “Letters to my future baby

  1. R's Mom

    Your ammamma-to-be always told me that “remember no matter what you do, i will be there.I may not approve but whenever you fall, i will be there to pull you out of the ditch”. And that for me is what my mother stands for – reassurance and my strength.

    I have carried those words with me always. I may not share everything with her – but i know that when push comes to shove ‘mommy will make it ok’. I am approaching 30 and your ammamma-to-be was here for a couple of weeks, i felt like i had a wonderful warm cozy blanket thrown over my life!

    THIS is what my parents are to me…no matter what stupidity (I do a lot) you do, I will be there. I will be there to pull you through…my parents are totally my reassurance and strength 🙂 Awesome awesome awesome nuttie..your future child is surely one lucky girl/boy 🙂

    Errr..adopt me will you ???*Looks hopeful*

    And on a serious note, your mom’s coming? lucky you!

    Reply
    1. Nuttie Natters Post author

      Me adopt you!!!! Lol…i need adoption!!!

      My mom was here last month around 2-3 weeks ago…now she gone 😦

      But parents are something else aint they – they make you feel like you are 5 whatever age you. My mom claims her parents make her feel like she is 5…so i guess it’s a vicious circle!!

      Reply
  2. Bikram

    SO veyr true.. there is right or wrong decision .. you do what is best for the kids and you do it with the best intentions always ..
    parents will give nanything especially mothers ..
    and I am sure when you are a parent you will do that same toooo ..

    parents know best:) and you will do a beautiful work of it 🙂 as and when you become a mother All the best

    Reply
  3. Comfy

    Kids have a real bad habit of not coming with an instruction manual so the parents stumble along, falling, standing back up, dusting themselves and doing it all over again. But the fact remains that they do it all with pure intensions and love in their heart and that somehow makes everything they do ok.

    The silver lining to it all is that by the time the kids start remembering things, parents have had their set of setbacks and are done with it all and hence seem like superheroes to the kids. And that my dear Nuttie is how your future-child-to-be will look at you. So yeah don’t worry too much, you will do just great when your time comes. And you will have your Amma to hold your hand through the tough times. Things cannot go wrong, now can they? 🙂

    Reply
    1. Anonymously Disguised

      I think when god was distributing wisdom, Comfy took away my share too 😥 Your words are always so so wise and full of love. I want to come and stay with you and learn from you… *sakshi dreaming about a Cooking free vacation playing around with the two most adorable little girls*

      Reply
  4. Zephyr

    Just remember what your mother did when you were small and make suitable changes to allow for the different times we live in and you will be fine. Take care.

    Reply
  5. My era

    Parenting makes more sense when you are in real life situations. When I was expecting my daughter, I too had lots of doubts on what kind of a parent I’ll be. But as time has rolled on, things sort out giving you enough time to learn from your experiences and mold your personality as a parent.

    Life isn’t all that tough and is full of countless learning curves and pleasant surprises, the same holds true with parenting. Don’t think too much for time will gently teach you to always pick the best for your baby and without any conscious thought you’ll find yourself standing by him/her no-matter what.

    Reply
  6. celestialrays

    I am clueless on all this Nuttie. Honestly, from what I have seen, there is only so much you can do. Those kids have a mind of their own and are little humans with their own personalities. What is right in one case may back fire in another. It is all so damn confusing.

    Reply
  7. DI

    Awww! But seriously Nuttie, stop sounding so sane! You can’t write such a thoughtful post and sign it off as ‘The Nut! 😀
    @Comfy You know you just gave me hope, it never struck me that Zo will not remember all the goof ups mom and dad are currently upto their necks in! And we will definitely be much better by the time she an remember things! Super-mommydom, here i come! 😀

    Reply
    1. Nuttie Natters Post author

      Lol Di…For little Di-va you are already super mommy – haven’t you seen her gorgeous smile when you are clicking her! Btw what abt some updates on the little one and Anyway, comfy is the wise one – she must be right – so that’s solace for you!

      Reply
  8. Scribby

    I agree with DI above…you can’t be so sane,can you? 😉 ya ya I know you’re the sanest massi to Chirpy and all that 😛 😛 😛 but Chirpy is unaware 😛 we know your secret of sanity,don’t we? 😛

    by the way lubly letter 😀

    Reply
  9. RS

    Hi Nuttie,

    BEen reading you for quite sometime now. Delurking to say lovely post 🙂 Even after being a mommy I cant think so well! Im always stumbling and getting confused and never sure if what Im doing is right!

    Like you said, if I can be half a parent that my parents were to me – I think I would’ve done a good job!

    Reply
  10. Anonymously Disguised

    Oh I am sure you will do fine…sometimes the nutty ones can really turn around and take care of their loved ones. In the worst case (like mine) just pray for a sane and sensible child who can not only take care of him but his cracked mother too 😥

    Reply
  11. Yasmeen

    Oh tht was sweet nut, n I wish my future kids wud knw me n their papa wil be always thr for them no matter wat too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

