The Enthusiasts and the Fanatics

A couple of years ago – Japan started dividing the world into Enthusiasts and Fanatics.

They introduced the world to Su-Doku.

In the beginning people were happy just attempting to solve it – we were all “Attempters”. They started awaiting the morning paper – ppl would argue with family members just to resolve who would solve the “Su Doku” that day and yes the fight would intensify if God Forbid the person didn’t manage to finish the “Su-Doku” but messed the paper up enough to ensure no one else could solve it.

Then these attempters actually started finishing “Su Doku” on a regular basis and became the “finishers”. It was no longer a big deal to finish Su Doku – what mattered was how much time. Newspapers milked this enthusiasm with crazy folks finishing Su Doku in 1:03:22 Secs (How the hell!!!) The nation went into a frenzy with ppl trying to beat these high standards.

The finishers refined and became the Enthusiasts. They were divided into 2 Sectors –

There were those who loved the fact that they were good at it and solved it at lightening fast time – u guessed it the “Impressers”,

Then there were those who competed it with each other and fought over which one had won by a milli-second – “the fighters” . (I hav heard that these cases were at times settled by the High Court and when the High Court refused to pass a judgement – the Supreme Court was beckoned)

Of course amongest all this there were a section of the society who refused to get drawn in and blamed the lack of time, mathematical inabilities and always screwed up their nose with a “pls – How nerdish”. but then again our story isn;t abt these much of loosers.

Of the Enthusiasts – the impressors – naah there isn;t much to say about them – they were Boring. Just came in Solved the Su-Doku and walked away leaving the world impressed. But the Fighters they Got dangerous. And Competition always divides.

Today we have ppl who upon loosing Su-Doku and being taunted rush to buy Su-Doku Books, get “presented” with the Su-Doku Game and will do anything to ensure that they are never beaten again. They will spend close to an hour arranging the game which shud ideally be solved in two mins –

So ladies and Gentlement here comes ” the Fanatics”….and we all know what fanatism breeds.Yes – they are dangerous – So fighters who aints fanatics, impressors who aint fighters. BEWARE COZ here comes the fanatics.

Dont take them lightly coz they are a result of Japan’s mind game with the rest of the world

So are u an attemptor, a snob, an impresser, an enthusiast or a fanatic?

i had written this in 2007 when my everyone in my office was heavily into Sudoku Mania

39 thoughts on “The Enthusiasts and the Fanatics

  1. Pixie

    Yea… i’ve seen ladies and men playing it on their mobiles, in books in the bus now also!! 😀

    It’s fun – but, not something I would want to play All the time!!

    Reply
    1. Nuttie Natters Post author

      I had it on all my old phone and i have to admit i was pretty smashing at it then…But now i have lost interest…so am going to agree with u it’s not something i can play all the time

      Reply
  2. Tanishka

    I’am just an attempter and hardly able solve any Su-Doku puzzle…. How can people fight for it… Anyways I end up fighting for a lot of things so I should better let Su-Soku be…. 😀 😀

    Reply
  3. Chatterbox

    I like it but I am a degree less than the ‘attempters’ the ‘casual attempter’
    every bit of the newspaper tempts me to write a new story so I hardly find the temptation to spend time doing anything else 😉

    Reply
  4. Swaram

    Reminds me – When we went shopping for the wedding sarees, MIL forced Su to come along too. And he got a few books along and was sitting in a corner and solving them while we were shopping away to glory 😛

    Oh and this was in 2006 😉

    Reply
  5. Bikram

    I dont have that much patience , I sure try doing it but then slowly it gets oin my nerves cause I cant FINISH it or solve it .. so I do the best fold the paper and walk away 🙂

    dont know what that is called I have tried it a million times i think but i dont rmemeber any time when i actually solved it .. yepp not that clever i guess MOI 🙂

    Reply
  6. Anonymously Disguised

    Haa I used those Sudoku columns in the newspapers to write small love messages and interestingly that killed the budding Fanaticism inside the husband 😉 After that he used to skip glancing at that entire page 😥

    Reply
  7. ajay

    This read like a paper on Sudoku. 🙂 I had written a program to solve it after racking my brain over it. And you know the mathematics behind Sudkou is so beautiful. I was enamoured with it. 🙂 Oh I still am. 😉 And have you tried Rubik’s cube? You must have. Another very interesting puzzle it is.

    Reply
  8. zephyr

    Me? Never been interested in solving puzzles, su doku or otherwise. But do crossword puzzles. Used to love the TOI one which was done by Raju Bharatan.

    So classify me into a new slot — Genuinely not interested — not a snob or a loser 🙂

    Reply
  9. Sanjana

    i’m a half-hearted attempter. if that. When it first came out I was more enthusiastic.. now it’s bricks on my BB. I know… sucks! But there it is! Until I finish the damn game, I won’t be satisfied!

    Reply
  10. Vineet

    I am not sure if you watch Southpark, but this post has Cartman written all over it! You should pass this on to the creators of Southpark, maybe they will come up with an episode based on this post! I am serious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

