Escape from me being me!

Responsibility is a scary word…

i can feel butterflies in my tummy!

My Boss is away for close to a month and my super boss is in the process of moving into a new role…which means that the Nut will directly be reporting into the Big Boss (the head) himself. The Nut and her boss are the sole members of a team – a team which has gained prominence because of the importance by the Head to what we handle – a role where we are highly dependent on what others implement but the results of the same are 100% of our Job Objectives (JO) and maybe 10% of the implementers JO…which makes us ummm…painful irritants to others

The role is one where there is huge opportunities to be bullied by all the “Big Ones” in other departments.

The role is one where undiplomatic me might say all the wrong things to the Big Boss and get us into trouble

The role is unexplored – no one knows what will work to help succeed in this.

I have two options this month – one slink away into oblivion – do what’s expected or one could shine -an opportunity for the “Big Ones” to realize that the Nut has potential.

The good parts of oblivion sinking are its easy, its safe, its suit lazy me to the core. the bad parts are i dont really like being seeing as “side kick” to boss…i

The good parts of Shining are i shine, i gain “prominence” and the next steps promotion et all become easier. The bad parts are u have to work hard, work late (which i hate), might involve tons of dirty work, i might try to shine, other might not be so interested in what i want to drive resulting in nothingness, i might rub a lot of shoulders the wrong way and hence get sc***ed further.

I know i should attempt to shine…its just my inner laziness can easily take over my profession ambitions.

I dont know why i need to blog this – i blogged hoping it would reduce the butterflies in my tummy (Nope no chance), i blog hoping u guys have some terrific/magic tips to see me thru,

i blogged to be honest to myself of the consequences of the two roads ahead of me Robert Frost style

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference

Help me help my professional self…!

20 thoughts on “Escape from me being me!

  1. smartassbride

    you’ll do really well. If you eat this frog, next time, you’ll be stronger and with that much more ammunition in your backpack!

    best wishes!

    Reply
  2. piyu

    First πŸ™‚

    Don’t have any tips for you.. I am sure you will figure it out and make the best out of your opportunities πŸ˜€

    All the best.

    Reply
  3. comfortablynam

    See the problem with blog friends is they are all going to tell you..make the most out of this opportunity..shine shine shine bright..

    No one is going to tell you to be lazy..not even me πŸ˜€

    So go knock them out of the park.. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. DI

    I have no advice at all to give you. I have deemed myself as an utterly useless individual in this cruel cruel professional world. Ugh.

    But I am definitely revisiting this post to see what interesting advice you get, so that I can copy some πŸ˜€

    Reply
  5. celestialrays

    Last month during my appraisal, I had to open my big mouth and say I am interested to go a step further and handle Project Management, more responsibilities, blah blah, in short, be more important. What’s the harm in appearing over ambitious right? Anyway who was going to pay any heed to me? But, what I said was taken seriously to a T. Now I report to the super-boss and he keeps me super-busy. He also keeps asking me every hour “is it done yet”? πŸ™„

    I have started losing more hair than usual and I dont have the free time to read through and comment on blogs happily. But you know what, at the end of the day, its all totally worth it! I can already see how good I am getting – fast, perfect and even diplomatic in back answering the pain-in-the-a$$-boss without offending him πŸ™‚

    So my first-hand advice(that too for free!) – go for it! You’ll love it, even if you are as lazy as me πŸ˜€

    PS: There is no chance of you being bullied with your muskels and all πŸ˜‰
    PPS: Now turn around so that I can kick you to accept Shining already! Good luck hon πŸ˜€

    Now go shiiiiiiineeeee πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Nuttie Natters Post author

      Ok …me got scared of kick…shine started morning only -washed my face well today..shining cheeks and flexed muskels πŸ˜€

      and good work for taking on more responsibility i guess sometimes u need to be brave enough to step out of your comfort zone

      Reply
  6. Titaxy

    Yeah so I’m gonna be repeating what others have already said, but so what πŸ˜€

    Make the most of the opportunity, Nut…best wishes πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. ajay

    Hey Nuttie stop dithering and shun lethargy. Take the road unexplored and less travelled by. Go for the kill. It will be fun. All the best for your endeavour πŸ™‚
    And thank you so much for sharing the poem. It is inspiring as ever.

    Reply
  8. zephyr

    Oh poor you! Such a hard choice for you! But if you just give yourself a hard shake and you will find the butterflies flying away, leaving you strong enough to take on the world! Go get it, child!:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

